Shared Left Border
site lineup
Baseball History
Team Profiles
Site Search
SC baseball
S.C. Baseball
Joe Jackson
S.C. Honors
World Series
Negro Leagues
Federal League
Hall Of Fame
Contact Us

Historic Baseball


 History  Players  Teams  Obituaries  Site search  Contact Us

Sponsor a page on Historic Baseball! Click here for details

1914 Federal League

   The Federal League opened its history on April 13, 1914 at Terrapin Park when Baltimore pitcher Jack Quinn earned a 4-2 victory over Buffalo. More than 28,000 were in attendance. 

   The league had been able to lure players away from the National and American Leagues. George Stovall of the St. Louis Browns was the first player to switch allegiances. Joe Tinker would join him.

   Legendary pitcher Walter Johnson signed a contract with the Federal League, but later changed his mind. Washington Senators owner Clark Griffith gave him a large raise and a bonus. The money came from other American League owners who were afraid that Johnson would become a Federal League member.

   Weeghman Park opened on April 23, 1914. This park would later become known as Wrigley Field. The Chicago Whales christened the park with a 9-1 victory over the Kansas City Packers.

   The league's first no hitter came on September 19 when Ed Lafitte of Brooklyn defeated Kansas City, 6-2.

   Indianapolis clinched the Federal League title when the team beat St. Louis on October 6 and Chicago lost to Kansas City. 


Team W-L GB
Indianapolis 88-65 --
Chicago 87-67 1.5
Baltimore 84-70 4.5
Buffalo 80-71 7
Brooklyn 77-77 11.5
Kansas City 67-84 20
Pittsburgh 64-86 22.5
St. Louis 62-89 25

For 1915 season, click here